Maximum Fines for California Drug Crimes
Those who are found by the courts to have been selling, transporting, or manufacturing illegal drugs are regularly issued costly fines as part of the penalties imposed by their state. In California, drug crime convictions can result in huge fines, sometimes tens of thousands of dollars in fines, in an attempt to keep offenders from repeating their crimes. Unfortunately, those who participate in these types of activities are usually addicted to the substances for which they are illegally handling, and the court systems have proven themselves to be counterproductive when trying to penalize addicts into submission.
These days, people are far more aware of the dangers associated with addiction, especially when it comes to certain substances. While some states have made drastic changes to the ways in which they penalize drug crime defendants, the fines associated with these offenses are still very high. Take into consideration that most addicts do not have money, as they are spending it on their drug of choice, and it becomes clear why some addicts find themselves spending time in jail to pay their fines.
Those who commit drug crimes can sometimes violate multiple laws with a single act. This can make it difficult to determine what the maximum fine will be for any given defendant. The following are the maximum fines that can be issued to those who break California laws regarding the possession, sale, transfer, and manufacture of illegal substances.
HS 11350 – Possession of a Controlled Substance
- Those found in possession of heroin, peyote, opiates, and other similar substances can be fined up to $1,000.
HS 11364 – Drug Paraphernalia Possession
- Possession of illegal drug paraphernalia such as syringes, needles, cocaine spoons, and pipes could result in a $1,000 fine.
HS 11351 – Possession for Sale of Narcotics
- Anyone who is found to have been in possession of illegal drugs with an intention to sell them can be fined up to $20,000.
HS 11352 – Sale or Transport of a Controlled Substance
- If a person sells, administers, transports, furnishes, or imports certain illegal drugs, they can be fined up to $20,000 for their offense. Drugs covered by this law include heroin, cocaine, opiates, GHB, hydrocodone, codeine, and peyote.
HS 11377 – Possession of Methamphetamines
HS 11379.6 – Narcotic and Drug Manufacturing
- If you are caught manufacturing, compounding, producing, or processing substances, such as running a meth lab, you could be ordered to pay $50,000 in fines.
Those facing drug crime charges in or around Orange County or Riverside County are invited to contact our firm for a free case evaluation. We can help you better understand the Health and Safety Code violations that have been brought against you.
Call (888) 250-2865 today to get help from one of our skilled legal professionals.
Submit For Free Case Evaluation
- Trump Administration Promises Crackdown on Recreational Marijuana
- Former USC Quarterback Todd Marinovich Faces Drug Charges
- Can I Get a Nursing License With a Drug Charge?
- Feds Bust Top Venezuelan Drug Enforcement Officer For Drug Trafficking
- Woman Arrested With $2 Million in Heroin on Modesto Highway